A role model in my life

 I have known her since I was 12 and the impact that she has made on my life is incredible, and I want to say that I am very grateful for this person being in my life.

When I first met Phebe, I was extremely shy, as i have said before I am really shy when I meet new people. I had very low self esteem, I didn’t think I belonged here, I was letting people get to me and everything they had to say about me. I just didn’t like who I was. Phebe helped me realize that I am a gift from God and that I am made in his image.  She put things into perspective that the only person at the end of the day who can truly judge me is God himself. She also helped me to realize that if I truly keep the faith, and believe that I could do something, then it can get done. I feel that w/o Phebe in my life, I really don’t know where I would be.

Phebe is like one of my number 1 supporters when I am in school as well as when I am home. She is ALWAYS looking out for me and just wants the best for me. She communicates when me, and when I have a favor or need something she is there right away to help me.  I honestly consider her as an older sister from another mother. 

Last summer, I hit a down in my life. I was very negative, I was letting people get to me, i just wasn’t the person who I was used to being. And maybe that is because people were tearing my self esteem apart by comparing me to my sisters and making fun of me. I was a wreck. I decided to go to the City Wide Revival that was going on and I had been going all week by this point. And i believe it was in the middle of the week that it had hit me, that everything that had been going on was nothing but the enemy. There are those times in life when you go to church, and you feel like the pastor’s message is directly reflecting on what is happening in your life, and that night at church I felt that is what  happened. I remember towards the end of service I was in literal tears, and she came up to me and talked to me. She explained to even though I don’t know at times which direction I’m heading in, nor the outcome of the path life takes me on, that God will be there to guide me through. I have to stop letting people get to me so quickly. I have to be the one to find my true identity and who I am. I have to maintain confidence and believe in myself, because if I don’t then no one will  That night was truly a hitter, but Phebe’s advice really helped me and it opened my eyes up.

I am so grateful for Phebe.  Honestly who knows where I would be if it weren’t for her entering my life. I feel that it was a blessing from God and that there was a purpose for her being there. I just want Phebe to know that she is truly my role model, inspiration, sister-in-Christ and I am forever thankful for her. I wouldn’t have as much confidence or as high of a self esteem if it weren’t for her. I love her and thankful for her being there. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

About rishka11

Graduate at Kutztown University God has favored me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment